Resolutions

e0ahdsenmdg-jeremy-thomas

Happy New Year’s Day! As tumultuous as 2016 was, I’m kind of going to miss it. What began as one of the hardest years of my life became one of the most worthwhile. Over the past twelve months, I have officially come out as transgender, finally (finally) attended an Aquabats concert, and started work as an RA alongside wonderful co-workers and residents.

Last January, I was struggling to overcome a bad bout of depression. My new year’s resolution was simply this: “Stay alive to 2017.”

Since I (somehow) completed last year’s goal, I have hopes. We’ll see how it went in 365 days. Here’s to a good, insightful year!

1.Write 1500 words per day.

From what I’ve heard, establishing a steady word count goes a long way. 2000-3000 would be a good end goal, but I want to work my way up to that. 1500 seems realistic with just enough challenge to make it interesting.

Going along with that, finish NaNoWriMo in November. This year is my year. I can feel it.

2. Read (at least) 100 books in 2017.

That evens out to (approximately) 1 books every 3-4 days. Hopefully, this will help clear out the backburner of books I’ve been meaning to read but haven’t gotten around to.

Beyond simple pleasure, I’ve heard that reading helps people become more empathetic, and reading improves your own writing skills. With any luck (and a little audiobooks to get through study sessions), this will be a do-able goal.

3. Every day, get to know someone better.

On the spectrum of extroversion and introversion, I lean towards reserved by a wide margin. Sometimes, instead of getting to know and develop relationships with people, I keep to myself because it’s easier when I really could do more.

Relationships are the most important aspect of our lives. They are our main (and, really, only) source of happiness. What I hope to gain from this is getting to know and understand people on a deeper level, both those I already know and those who I meet in everyday circumstances.

In terms of application, I want to try pushing myself to talk to others and listen to them as well as working to develop closer relationships with them.

4. Maintain the six dimensions of wellness each day.

Initially, this goal was going to be “eat less cookies and not be single.” But when I informed a friend about this, he said that it might be more helpful to focus on overall health and wellness rather than… those goals in particular.

Focusing on the six elements of wellness (occupational, physical, emotional, social, spiritual, and intellectual) may help overall well-being more than the prototype goals.

In practice, I’m thinking of trying to do an activity that promotes each of these dimensions. For physical fitness, this might mean exercising or, well, eating less cookies. Spiritual wellness might involve yoga or reading from a spiritual book. And so on.

5.  Overcome evil with good.

A couple of days ago, I came across this quote: “Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.” (Romans 12:21)

For me, this is not necessarily a moralistic thought. In 2016, there were some dark moments: both on the worldwide and the individual moments. When faced with hardship, sometimes I worry that the bad will overcome the good, and I lose hope.

Yet last year, despite painful moments, goodness always came through. It came through the people and the kindness they showed me. In the end, the little things outweighed the bad. When hardships happen this year, I hope to respond with compassion and try to bring light to my life and the lives of others.

And there we are, five resolutions. 2016, we hardly knew ye. Good luck in 2017! I hope it’s a prosperous year for you and that you’re able to accomplish whatever resolutions you have, or at least make progress in this crazy thing that we call life.

4 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. What a wonderful New Years post. Congratulations on coming out, that is no easy feat but its one that gives such a huge sigh of relief.
    I love your goals, especially the six dimensions of wellness which I am now having a look at myself. I live by the “mind body spirit” rule each day, so that means I do a least one thing for each aspect every day and this looks like it will be a wonderful expansion of that.
    I too have just completed Nanowrimo, I didn’t hit the 50,000 but it did get me writing consistently.
    We seem to have a similar take on life my friend! All the best with your goals!!!

    Like

    1. Thanks, man! I like the idea of “mind body spirit”–sometimes it’s really easy to focus on physical health without thinking about the other two. Great job on NaNoWriMo! All that really matters when it comes to that is improvement. What did you write about?

      Like

      1. Exactly that! I have a history of problems with self balance and the triad approach really helps and keeps me (mostly!) in check!
        I am writing my own story of recovery, but i also have some fiction books in mind. Ive always wanted to write and it seems now that its finally starting to happen!
        How about you?

        Like

      2. Oh hey, that is way cool! I read through some of your blog and you sound like a really strong person. Glad you’re doing so well these days. What kind of fiction do you write–like fantasy, realistic, etc?

        Mostly I write realistic fiction 🙂 I write a bit of creative nonfiction and like doing that as well, but I don’t know if I could do a NaNoWriMo-sized nonfiction project

        Like

Leave a Reply

